IWU  Athletic News
News Photo
Game 1
Game 2
9 Innings
Indiana Wesleyan
Saint Francis (Ind.)
Baseball - Sat, Apr. 14, 2012

FORT WAYNE, Ind. -- Sam Lewis put forth his best effort to stop the Indiana Wesleyan University baseball skid on Saturday afternoon at University of Saint Francis (Ind.) in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Lewis' effort on the mound though, was not good enough in Game 1 and Saint Francis would win both ends of the doubleheader by scores of 3-2 and 12-2. Saint Francis won all four games in the season series.

Game 1 went extra innings and was decided in the ninth. Justin Sovine just entered the game in relief of Sam Lewis in the ninth when Saint Francis scored the winning run. The lead-off hitter singled and a sac bunt moved him to second. He stole third and then scored on a one out, RBI single for the Cougars' walk-off victory.

Lewis allowed two unearned runs for Indiana Wesleyan in eight strong innings. He surrendered only two hits but did walk five with nine strikeouts.

Indiana Wesleyan (16-27, 8-16 MCC) doubled up Saint Francis in hits by an 8-4 margin. Second baseman Jacob Murphy and centerfielder Quinn Nofziger each finished with two hits apiece. Both Indiana Wesleyan runs came in the second inning on RBI singles by Quinn Nofziger and catcher Alex Ridlen.

In Game 2, Saint Francis (25-17, 20-4 MCC) scored in every inning en route to the 12-2 win. Chris Tyler gave up five runs (four earned) in three innings, Jacob Worrell allowed three runs in his two innings of work, and Ethan Daggett surrendered four runs in the sixth inning.

Shortstop Josh Ellis singled to left field for the Wildcats' first run of the game in the fourth inning to cut into the lead at 5-1. Designated hitter Javier Aponte singled to left-center field in the fifth for IWU's second run as IWU then trailed 7-2.

Javier Aponte ended Game 2 with a 2-for-3 performance and one RBI. Six other Wildcats contributed singles in the loss.

Indiana Wesleyan returns to Wildcat Field for their next set of games. IWU hosts Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio) University at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, April 17.

Share |