IWU  Athletic News
News Photo
Men's Outdoor Track & Field - Sat, Apr. 28, 2012

UPLAND, Ind. -- Indiana Wesleyan University men's outdoor track and field continued its dominant run in the Mid-Central College Conference with a massive 69-point margin of victory on Saturday at the MCC Championship in Upland, Indiana.

Indiana Wesleyan totaled 225 points to bring home the championship. Spring Arbor (Mich.) University was a distant second place with 156 points while Bethel (Ind.) College was third with 140 points.

The Wildcats have now won eight conference titles all-time, including five of the past six. IWU has won three in a row for the first time after claiming titles in 2010 and 2011. Despite a combined 15 MCC championships from the men's and women's team, this is only the second time both have won titles in the same season, previously done in 2007.

Indiana Wesleyan head coach John Foss was named MCC Coach of the Year following the meet on both the men's and women's sides.

Indiana Wesleyan dominated the conference with 21 MCC All-Conference performances from 18 individuals and three relay events. A total of 18 Wildcats earned at least one All-Conference nod and five Wildcats won a combined six MCC championships this weekend. MCC All-Conference honors are for top-three finishes in an event.

Ethan Naylor won two MCC titles on Saturday with wins in the 1,500-Meter Run and the 5,000-Meter Run. Naylor won the 1,500 in a time of 4 minutes 2.54 seconds and then followed with a 5,000 time of 15:22.60. Andrew Albert joined Naylor as an All-Conference runner in the 5,000 with a third place finish in 15:40.19. Albert would place better in the 3,000-Meter Steeplechase with a runner-up finish in 9:37.19.

Justin Shaffer highlighted a dominant Indiana Wesleyan performance in the 400-Meter Run. Shaffer won the conference championship in the event in a time of 50.51 seconds, winning by a mere .004 seconds. But Shaffer was not alone in the 400 as three other Wildcats scored in the race as well. Alex Hendricks was named All-Conference for his third place run in 50.74 seconds while Nick Brown was sixth in 51.87 seconds and Will Spencer was eighth in 52.26 seconds. Indiana Wesleyan earned 20 points in the race.

Kyle Abney and James Allen went 1-2 in the Shot Put for 18 points. Abney threw the shot put 55 feet 6.25 inches for the conference title. Allen was runner-up with a toss of 50-5.25. Allen won the only MCC championship on Friday in the Discus.

The sixth MCC championship was delivered by Andy Lipiec in the 110-Meter Hurdles. Lipiec won in 14.85 seconds and was the first of three Wildcats to score in the event. Jake Smith was third in 15.34 seconds and Micah Shaw took seventh in 16.12 seconds as IWU scored 18 points in the high hurdles.

Lipiec was a busy man on Saturday as he was named MCC All-Conference is three other events as well.

In the 200-Meter Dash, Lipiec sprinted to a third place finish in 22.48 seconds. Teammates Jordan Easley and Desmond Sleigh were fourth and fifth respectively as Indiana Wesleyan tacked on 15 points in the race. Easley ran in a time of 23.01 seconds while Sleigh crossed the line in 23.12 seconds.

Lipiec's other All-Conference performances came in relay events. Lipiec, Easley, Darrian Mikell, and Sleigh earned runner-up in the 4x100-Meter Relay in a time of 42.27 seconds while Lipiec, Shaffer, Hendricks, and Eric Brown placed third in the 4x400-Meter Relay in 3:22.61.

Adam Miller returned from injury to throw the Javelin on Saturday. Miller would be named MCC All-Conference with his throw of 171-7 which earned a third place finish.

Indiana Wesleyan will continue post season competition next weekend at the NCCAA National Championship in Elgin, Illinois. The three day meet begins on Thursday, May 3.

Share |