IWU  Athletic News
2008 MCC Champions
2008 MCC Champions
Women's Tennis - Tue, Sep. 30, 2008

MARION, Ind. -- The Indiana Wesleyan University women's tennis team wrapped-up their 17th straight Mid-Central College Conference title on Tuesday afternoon with an 8-1 victory over visiting Grace (Ind.) College at the Sutter Tennis Center.

The Wildcats have won every conference title since 1991. The team began in 1990, but did not participate in a league that year. But every year since, the Wildcats have won the conference crown.

With the MCC crown, Indiana Wesleyan has secured an automatic bid to the NAIA National Tournament, which will be played in May.


Indiana Wesleyan took control of the match early with easy victories in doubles competition.

Sophomores Lisa Massey and Eva Delk won 8-2 in No. 1-doubles and the No. 2 team of senior Julia Hedgebeth and junior Caitlin McGuire cruised to an 8-1 win. Senior Laura Helm teamed with junior Courtney Kooyers in No. 3 play to pull out an 8-3 victory.

Hedgebeth gave Indiana Wesleyan a big point in No. 1-singles with a 6-2, 6-2 win over one of the top players in the league. Massey lost 4-6, 6-2, 2-6 in No. 2 play, but the No. 3-6 singles matches all went to the Wildcats.

Delk (6-0, 6-1), McGuire (5-7, 6-2, 7-5), Kooyers (6-0, 6-1) and Helm (6-2, 7-5) each earned a point to catapult the Wildcats to the 8-1 victory.

Indiana Wesleyan is 11-0 this year and completes MCC play with a perfect 8-0 mark.

Share |